skip navigation

Current Graduate Students

Daniel Bagnall
Areas:  Medical Sociology, Urban Sociology, Labor
bagnall@buffalo.edu

Malysa Battaglia
Areas: Childhood development within LGBT families; Decision-making processes of same-sex couples
malysamo@buffalo.edu

Aysegul Balta Ozgen
Areas: International Migration, Qualitative Methods, Law and Social Policy
aysegulb@buffalo.edu

Christopher Bosley
Areas: Medical Sociology, concentrating on Emergency Medical Services
cmbosley@buffalo.edu

Erica Boyce
Areas: Drug Policy, Crime, Health
ericaboy@buffalo.edu

Alexander Capella
Areas: Class based inequality and Sociology of Religion
acapella@buffalo.edu

Cassidy Castiglione
Areas: Medical Sociology, Health Disparities, Environmental Sociology, Quantitative Methods
cbcastig@buffalo.edu

Yu-An Chen
Areas: Race and Ethnicity, Critical Race Theory, Social Stratification, Quantitative Research Methods
ychen286@buffalo.edu

Hsiao-Wen Chiang
Areas: Immigration, Race and Ethnicity, Urban Sociology
hsiaowen@buffalo.edu

Michael Cimasi
Areas: Law & Society, Higher Education, Organizations and Institutions, Urban Sociology & Medical Gentrification
mccimasi@buffalo.edu

Natasha Clark
Areas: Families, Community Development
nclark@buffalo.edu

Jack Clarke
Areas: Contemporary Theory; Cultural Sociology; Urban Sociology; Qualitative Methods
jackclar@buffalo.edu

Jessica Coley
Areas: Race, Residential Segregation, Gentrification
jcoley@buffalo.edu

Kristen Connolly
Areas: Drugs and Addiction, Crime and the Law, Inequality
klconnol@buffalo.edu

Shiyue Cui
Areas: Sociology of Law, Social Policy, Work and Labor
shiyuecu@buffalo.edu

Willis Danielson
Areas: Urban & Community, Technology
willisda@buffalo.edu

Camry Dean
Areas: Law and Government, Social and Comparative Policy, Sociology of Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Studies
camrydea@buffalo.edu

Scott Denk
Areas: Gender Inequality, Race Inequality, Symbolic Interactionism, and Qualitative Studies
scottden@buffalo.edu

Kiera Duckworth
Areas: Gender, Sexuality, & the Body; Mixed Methods; Sociology of Sport; Health Behaviors
kieraduc@buffalo.edu

Paul Durlak
Areas: Sociology of Law, Disability & Society, Work, Teaching Sociology, Organizations & Institutions, Social Theory
pauldurl@buffalo.edu

Zachary Evans
Areas: Law and Public Policy, Social Behavior, Cultural Institutions, Neoliberalism
zacharye@buffalo.edu

Wanda Garcia
Areas: Child Welfare, Racial Inequality, and Crime
wandagar@buffalo.edu

Sarah Glann
Areas: Environmental Sociology, Medical Sociology, Sociology of Gender
sarahgla@buffalo.edu

Gregory Hall
Areas: Criminology, Urban, Small Group Culture, Homelessness
gmhall@buffalo.edu

Sarah Hussain
Areas: Medical Sociology, Racial and Ethnic Inequality, Sociology of the Life Course, Quantitative Methods Research
sh98@buffalo.edu

Kharuna Jaichandra
Areas: Social Inequality (Disability), Medical Sociology, the Life Course approach and Sociology of Education
kharunaj@buffalo.edu

Eileen Keh
Areas: Family, Aging, Health, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods, East Asia
eileenke@buffalo.edu

Adonis Kernen
Areas: Social Theory (Classical and Contemporary), The Self, Research Methodology (Quantitative and Qualitative), Social Inequality, Social Stratification
adoniske@buffalo.edu

Albert Kim
Areas: Immigration, Life Course, Gender, Sexuality
chigyunk@buffalo.edu

Vinay Kumar
Areas: Theory; Culture; Urban Sociology; Sociology of Morality; Knowledge and Science
vkumar8@buffalo.edu

Byung Soo Lee
Areas: Sociology of Family, Immigration, Inequality, Life Course, and Sociology of Education
byungsoo@buffalo.edu

Seon Yup Lee
Areas:  Citizenship, Transnationalism, International Students, Globalization
seonyupl@buffalo.edu

Cheyenne Lonobile
Areas: Social Structures and Institutions, Social Policy, Social Constructionism and Gender
clonobil@buffalo.edu

Wei Luo
Areas: Quantitative Research Methods, Sociology of Health
wluo3@buffalo.edu

Lauren Majewski
Areas: Sociology of Law, Sociology of Gender, Criminology
lemajews@buffalo.edu

Donna Manion
Areas: Gender, Transgender, and Queer Subcultures; Medical Industry; Mental Illness; Military
donnaman@buffalo.edu

Natalia Marte
Areas: Critical Race Theory, Law, Mass Incarceration and Policing
nmarte@buffalo.edu@buffalo.edu

Patrick McDonald
Areas: Race; Class; Sociology of Education
psm6@buffalo.edu

Matthew McLeskey
Areas: Sociology of Poverty, Sociology of Law, Urban Sociology, Environmental Sociology, Sociological and Social Theory
mhmclesk@buffalo.edu

Tenzin Metok
Areas: Immigration, Gender Inequality, Refugee Studies
tmetok@buffalo.edu

Brandon Noga
Areas: Sociology of Education, Family and the Life Course, Law and Social Policy, Social Psychology, Social Inequality
bmnoga@buffalo.edu

Laura Obernesser
Areas: Family and family inequalities; Aging, gender, and the life course; Generations and society; Kinship relationships and care work; Social theory; Qualitative methods
lauraobe@buffalo.edu

Jolin Ooi
Areas: Sociology of Art, Urban Sociology
yeetingj@buffalo.edu

Richard Patti
Areas: Poverty and Inequality
rjpatti@buffalo.edu

Matthew Perry
Areas: Medical Sociology, Aging and Life Course, Quantitative Methods, Family
mjperry2@buffalo.edu

Watoii Rabii
Areas: Inequality, Immigration, Urban Sociology, Crime and Deviance, and Social Theory
watoiira@buffalo.edu

Margaret Rex
Areas: Political Sociology, Political Extremism and Anti-governmentality, Social Stratification
mrex@buffalo.edu

Fernando Rodriguez Leon
Areas: Immigration, Masculinity, Drugs, Violence, Sports
frodrigu@buffalo.edu

Diana Samardzic
Areas: Statistics; Economic Sociology of Immigration; Quantitative Research; Gender
dpehlic@buffalo.edu

Julia Schoonover
Areas: Human Rights, Law and Social Policy, Gender, and Inequality
jjschoon@buffalo.edu

Jennifer Schweitzer
Areas: Gender, Social Inequalities, Criminology, Social Policy, Law
jjschwei@buffalo.edu

Youlhee Seo
Areas: Adolescence, Socialization, Lifecourse
youlhees@buffalo.edu

Anamika Sharma
Areas: Ethnicity and Refugee Assimilation; Qualitative Methods
anamikas@buffalo.edu

Jared Strohl
Areas: Social Theory, Urban Studies, Environmental Studies, Race, Class & Inequality, Food, Culture
jaredstr@buffalo.edu

Joanne Tompkins
Areas: Medical Sociology, Aging, Life Course, Food, Quantitative Methods
jtompkin@buffalo.edu

Logan Valenty
Areas:  Social Psychology, Criminology, Stigma
loganval@buffalo.edu

Stephanie Valenzuela Preciado
Areas: Crime, Deviance, Race, Stratification, Immigration
svalenzu@bufflo.edu

Siqi Wang
Areas: Inequality in Health, Cultural Participation
swang36@bufflo.edu

Miranda Workman
Areas:  Interspecies interactions (anthrozoology), Public Policy and Law related to human-animal issues, death and grief, Environmental Sociology, Families, and Theory
mkworkma@buffalo.edu

Yulin Yang
Areas: Immigration, Health, Aging and Life Course, Quantitative Method
yulinyan@buffalo.edu

Yaqi Yuan
Areas: Sociology of Law, Sociology of Families, Medical Sociology
yaqiyuan@buffalo.edu