Department Faculty

Brenda Moore at Sociology Graduation Ceremony

Adelman, Robert

Ph.D., University at Albany, SUNY, 2001

Associate Professor

Interests:  Racial and Economic Residential Segregation; Immigration; Internal Migration; Occupational, Industrial, and Earnings Inequality

466 Park Hall
716 645 8478
adelman4@buffalo.edu

Arditi, Jorge
Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1989

Associate Professor

Interests:  Classical and Contemporary Theory
409 Park Hall
716 645 8460
arditi@buffalo.edu

Barr, Ashley

Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2014

Assistant Professor (starting Fall 2014)

Interests:  Family, Family Inequality, Aging and Life Course, Health, Quantitative Methods

402 Park Hall

716-645-8453

abbarr@buffalo.edu

Berrey, Ellen
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 2008

Assistant Professor

Interests: Race and Ethnicity, Cities, Political Language, Law and Organizations, Inequality and Discrimination, Qualitative Methods
404 Park Hall
716 645 8464
eberrey@buffalo.edu

Blair, Sampson Lee.
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University, 1991

Associate Professor

Interests: Sociology of the Family; Child and Adolescent Development; Gender; Ethnicity
456 Park Hall
716 645 8472
slblair@buffalo.edu

Farrell, Michael P.

Ph.D., Yale University, 1964

Professor

Interests: Social Psychology; Sociology of the Family; Sociology of Small Groups; Friendship Groups; Adolescence
446 Park Hall
716 645 2711
ofarrell@buffalo.edu

Gottdiener, Mark
Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1973

Professor

Interests: The New Urban Sociology, Contemporary Theory, Cultural Studies, Semiotics
403 Park Hall
716 645 8454
mgott@buffalo.edu

Granfield, Robert
Ph.D., Northeastern University, 1989

Professor

Director, Civic Engagement & Public Policy

Interests: Law and Society, Sociology of Drugs and Alcohol, Crime and Deviance, Law and Urban Justice, Occupations and Professions
406 Park Hall
716 645 8457
rgranfie@buffalo.edu

Grol-Prokopczyk, Hanna

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 2013

Assistant Professor

Interests: Medical Sociology, Sociology of Science, Research Methods (Quantitative and Qualitative), Aging and the Life Course.

467 Park Hall

716 645 8480

hgrol@buffalo.edu

Hatton, Erin
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 2007

Assistant Professor

Interests: Work & Labor Markets; Labor & Labor Movements: Law & Social Policy; Race, Gender, Class & Inequality
464 Park Hall
716 645 8476
eehatton@buffalo.edu

Hoffman, Steve
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 2008

Assistant Professor

Interests: Organizations, Social Psychology, Theory, Science and Technology, Qualitative Methods
457 Park Hall
716 645 8465
sgh@buffalo.edu

Lee, Kristen Schultz
Ph.D., Cornell University, 2004

Associate Professor

Interests: Gender and the Life Course, Sociology of the Family, Aging, Education, Japan
453 Park Hall
716 645 8469
kslee4@buffalo.edu

 

Mele, Christopher
Ph.D., New School for Social Research, 1994

Associate Professor

Interests: Urban Sociology, Sociology of Culture, Community Studies
407 Park Hall
716 645 8458
cmele@buffalo.edu

Moore, Brenda
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1987

Associate Professor

Interests: Race and Ethnic Relations, Military Sociology, Gender Stratification
454 Park Hall
716 645 8470
socbrend@buffalo.edu

 

Street, Debra,  Chair
Ph.D., Florida State University, 1996

Professor

Interests:  Health and Income Security over the Life Course; Long-Term Care; Comparative Public Policies/Welfare State; Mixed-Methods Research Design

438 Park Hall
716 645 8475
dastreet@buffalo.edu


Su, Jessica Houston

Ph.D, Cornell University, 2014

Assistant Professor

Interests: Family, Children & Youth, Population, Inequality

455 Park Hall

716 645 8471

jhsu2@buffalo.edu

 

Trautner, Mary Nell, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2006

Associate Professor

Interests:  Sociology of law; Gender, sexuality, and the body; Work and organizations
465 Park Hall
716 645 8477
trautner@buffalo.edu

Wagmiller, Robert, Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2004

Associate Professor

Interests:  Urban Poverty, Male Joblessness, Racial and Economic Residential Segregation, Child Development, Quantitative Methods
468 Park Hall
716 645 8479
rw26@buffalo.edu