skip navigation

Events


Fall
2017 Proseminar Schedule

474 Park Hall / 12:30pm-1:30pm (unless otherwise noted)

Thursday, August 24 – Event
Welcome luncheon
Department event
108 Capen Hall, 12-1:30 pm

Wednesday, September 6 – Family Friendly Event
Food Truck Rodeo
Buffalo History Museum, 5:00-8:00 pm

Monday, September 11 – Prosem
Professors Jordan Besek, Chris Dennison, and Kevin Smiley,
“Successfully Navigating Graduate School”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, September 18 – Prosem
Professor Erin Hatton,
“The Mechanics of Writing”
(bring some writing with you)
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, September 25 – Prosem
Professor Kristen Schultz Lee,
“Understanding the UB Curriculum”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Saturday, September 30 – Family Friendly Event
Apple Picking in Western New York!
Blackman Homestead Farm, 4472 Thrall Road, Lockport.
Meet at 10:00 am.

Monday, October 2 – Prosem
Professor Debi Street,
“Best Practices for Teaching”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, October 9 – Prosem
Professor Ashley Barr,
“Building Applied Skills in Graduate School”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, October 16 – Prosem
Professor Brenda Moore,
Topic TBD
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

 Monday, October 23 – Prosem
Professor Hanna Grol-Prokopczyk,
“The Peer Review Process”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, October 30 – Prosem
Professor Jessica Houston Su,
“Creating Conference Presentations”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, November 6 – Prosem
Professor Mary Nell Trautner,
“Forming and Working with a Committee”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, November 13 – Prosem
Professor Greg Sharp,
“It’s Never Too Early (or Too Late) to Publish”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, November 27 – Prosem
Professor Robert Adelman,
“All about MA Papers and Portfolios”
474 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm


Contact Professor Mary Nell Trautner, Director of Graduate Studies (trautner@buffalo.edu), for details or with questions.