skip navigation

Events


Spring 2017 Proseminar Schedule

474 Park Hall / 12:00pm-1:00pm (unless otherwise noted)

Wednesday, February 1 – Prosem
Professor Greg Sharp, “Networking at Conferences”

Friday, February 10 Colloquia                                                                                                                     Dr. Kait Boyle, “Labeling and Reporting Rape on College Campuses: Interactional, Institutional Barriers and Feminist Solutions” 107 Capen Hall, 2:45-3:45 pm

“Trauma, Power, and the Ivory Tower: Mental Health Consequences of Campus Victimization”                   107 Capen Hall, 4:00-5:00 pm

Wednesday, February 15 – Prosem
Professor Chris Mele, “Archival Research for Sociologists”

Wednesday, February 22 – Prosem
Professor Hanna Grol-Prokopczyk, “Picking a Thesis or Dissertation Topic (Or Framing the One You Already Have)”

Sunday, February 26 – Family Friendly Event
Join us for a hockey game: Buffalo Beauts vs. Connecticut Whale
Buffalo Harbor Center, 3:30 pm. Tickets are $15.

Wednesday, March 1 – Prosem
Professor Ashley Barr, “Preparing for Qualifying Exams”

Wednesday, March 15 – Prosem
Professor Kimberly McGann, Nazareth University, “The Inside Scoop on Teaching-Intensive Jobs”

Wednesday, March 29 – Prosem
Professor Elizabeth Gage-Bouchard, “Starting, Writing, and Finishing a Dissertation”

Monday, April 3 – Prosem
Professor Kristen Schultz Lee, “Happiness in Graduate School”
474 Park Hall, 11:30-12:30 pm

Wednesday, April 12 – Prosem
David Youhess, “Navigating the Job Market with an MA in Sociology”
280 Park Hall, 12:30-1:30 pm

Monday, April 19 – Prosem
Professor Brenda Moore, TBA

Wednesday, April 26 – Prosem
Professor Mary Nell Trautner, “Developing a Teaching Philosophy”

Wednesday, May 3 – Prosem
Professor Jessica Houston Su, “Avoiding Plagiarism in Your Writing”
474 Park Hall, 11:30-12:30 pm

Wednesday, May 10 – Prosem
Professor Robert Adelman, “How to Plan for a Productive Summer”

Saturday, May 20 – Event
Department of Sociology Graduation!
Volunteer to help and provide support for graduates!
10:00 am, Student Union Theater


Contact Professor Mary Nell Trautner, Director of Graduate Studies (trautner@buffalo.edu), for details or with questions.